Corvette

WELCOME TO CORVETTEC3.COM WHICH STARTED IN 2002 WHICH MAKES IT ONE OF THE OLDEST CORVETTE FORUMS ON THE INTERNET.   WE WELCOME ANYONE THAT HAS INTEREST IN CLASSIC CARS ESPECIALLY CORVETTES.  WE ALSO WELCOME QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS AS LONG AS YOU ARE RESPECTFUL OF OTHERS.   AFTER JOINING AND POSTING 3 TIMES THE ENTIRE FORUM WILL BE AVAILABLE, THIS PROTECTS US AGAINST SPAMMERS
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

First Project (Read 2426 times)
Mar 11th, 2012 at 8:07am

Dex   Offline
I Love my Corvette!
Alabama

This is my first project on my 78. I just purchased this car and it had 0 brakes. The M/C was covered with rust inside and out and looked to be full of rusty water rather than fliud. I have bench bleed a new M/C and was wondering before I started going any farther if...I open all bleeders, fill M/C with fluid and leave for a day or two would gravity push  particals out of the lines before i start to bleed? I expect to have issues with the calipers as dirty as the M/C was..Thank You
« Last Edit: Mar 11th, 2012 at 8:10am by Dex »  

Dex
IP Logged

Reply #1 - Mar 11th, 2012 at 8:39am
class of 77   Ex Member

Dex  Many things to consider, the main culprit of rust in the M/C is the original calipers leak around the pistons and let in moisture causing the rust in the M/C so they are probably bad. You can probably blow out the lines with air but you don't want force the crud into the metering block in the back of the car. You will also have to probably replace the flexible lines to each caliper. Then check all the metal lines as if you have rusty water in the M/C it may have started to corrode the inside of those lines as well. Good luck on your inspections. Bob   P.s. I'm sure other members will also chime in Smiley.

IP Logged

Reply #2 - Mar 11th, 2012 at 8:52am

Dex   Offline
I Love my Corvette!
Alabama